RimWorld

RimWorld

RT Fuse
belzebot 29 Dec, 2016 @ 4:07am
game balance
@Ratysz Hi, I'm opening a discussion for this because my reply is way too long for the comment section. First of all don't take this as an attempt to tell you what to do with your mod, I just want to give you my point of view about the two changes I mentioned in the comments and your reply to them.

I'm a physicist, so I happen to know a bit about electric circuitry as well. Fuses are as old as electricity itself, they exist to prevent electrical cables starting fires in your house (not explosions!) due to the cable itself being faulty or you running more power through them than they can handle. They have actually nothing to do with batteries per se, a circuit could cause a fire (again, not an explosion) just as well without them if they are faulty or the load is too high.

Today's cable quality and circuit design are much better than in the early days of electricity and the actual need for a fuse to trip is quite rare, unlike in Rimworld where this happens all the time. You probably only remember your fuses blowing for a valid reason a few times in your life, if at all. It's rare, and when it does happen it's usually due to human error. Of course when you do need them, they are a lifesaver. The Rimworld short circuit event is WAY too frequent in vanilla and such a thing in reality can be completely avoided using fuses. There's nothing "magical" about fuses, they use simple electrical principle to prevent short circuits and overloads.