## 42ND SESSION - UNESCO GENERAL CONFERENCE SUMMARY OF DEBATES DELEGATES INFORMATION BUREAU

## NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Date	7 November 2023	Room	IV
N° meeting	First meeting	Hour	From: 12 noon To: 12:20 p.m.
Chairperson(s)	Ms Maria Lorena Sol de Pool	Country	EL SALVADOR

## SUMMARY OF DEBATE(S)

Items examined	Item 1.4 – Election of the President and Vice-Presidents of the General Conference and of the chairpersons, vice-chairpersons and rapporteurs of the Commissions and Committees			
Debate no	N/A	Debate status	Item 1.4 (Start)	
Related documents	42 C/NOM/1 and Add.			
DRs examined	N/A			
Countries that took floor	N/A			
Summary of debate	<ol> <li>The Chairperson of the Executive Board, Ms Tamara Rastovac (Serbia), opened the first meeting of the Nominations Committee and following the recommendation contained in decision 216 EX/Decision 20 part III, proposed the election of Ms Maria Lorena Sol de Pool, Ambassador of El Salvador to UNESCO, to the post of Chairperson of the Nominations Committee. The Committee approved the recommendation.</li> <li>The Nominations Committee consolidated its Bureau, with Portugal (Ms Teresa Salado) and Czechia (Ms Jirîna Valentová) as Vice-Chairperson.</li> <li>The Nominations Committee approved by acclamation the recommendation of the Executive Board contained in decision 217 EX/Decision 22.III, to elect Ms Simona Mirela Miculescu, Ambassador and Permanent Delegate of Romania to UNESCO as President of the 42nd session of the General Conference.</li> <li>On recommendation of the Executive Board at its 217th session (217 EX/Decision 22.III), the Nominations Committee approved the 31 Member States for the posts of Vice- Presidents of the 42nd session of the General Conference. These Member States are as follows:</li> </ol>			

<ol> <li>Andorra</li> <li>Armenia</li> <li>Australia</li> <li>Azerbaijan</li> <li>Bahrain</li> <li>Brazil</li> <li>Chile</li> <li>Cook Islands</li> <li>Cote d'Ivoire</li> <li>Djibouti</li> <li>Finland</li> </ol>	<ol> <li>Gabon</li> <li>Greece</li> <li>Grenada</li> <li>Guyana</li> <li>Islamic Republic of Iran</li> <li>Kenya</li> <li>Libya</li> <li>Morocco</li> <li>Mozambique</li> <li>Norway</li> <li>Pakistan</li> </ol>	28. Togo 29. United States of America	
<ul> <li>4. Following the recommendations of the Executive Board, 216 EX/Decision 20 Part IV, the Nominations Committee nominated the following Chairpersons of Committees and Commissions of the 42nd session of the General Conference:</li> <li>APX Commission – Vishal V. Sharma (India) Group IV</li> <li>ED Commission – Mr Gbovadeh G. Gbilia (Liberia) Group V (a)</li> <li>SC Commission – Ms Tamara Elzein (Lebanon) Group V (b)</li> <li>SHS Commission – Ms Monique Van Daalen (Kingdom of the Netherlands) Group I</li> <li>CLT Commission – Ms Elia Del Carmen Guerra Jurado (Panama) Group III</li> <li>CI Commission – Mr Nykola Movchan (Ukraine) Group II</li> <li>LEG Committee – Mr Pierre Michel Eisemann (France) Group I</li> <li>5. The Chairperson invited Member States to communicate to the Secretariat of the Nominations Committee as soon as possible the names of Vice-Chaipersons for the abovementioned Commissions.</li> </ul>			

## DETAILS NEXT MEETING

Date	Wednesday, 8 November 2023	Room	IV	
Nº meeting	Second Meeting	Hour	From: 11am To:	
Items to be examined	Item 1.4 – Election of the President and Vice-Presidents of the General Conference and of the chairpersons, vice-chairpersons and rapporteurs of the Commissions and Committees Item 12.1 – Election of Members of the Executive Board Items 12.2 to 12.16 – Elections of members of Headquarters Committee, Legal Committee and other subsidiary organs of the General Conference; and appointment of an External Auditor			
Debate no		Debate status	Item 1.4(continuation)	
Related documents	42 C/NOM/1 and Add. 42 C/NOM/INF.1 42 C/NOM/INF.2 42 C/NOM/2 42 C/NOM/3 42 C/NOM/4 42 C/NOM/5 42 C/NOM/6 42 C/NOM/7 and Add 42 C/NOM/7/INF			
DRs to be examined	N/A			